Local farmers Matt and Carolyn Madison offer their produce for sale to Findlay Market shoppers Photo: Tom Jackson, August 22, 1998
Findlay Market of Ohio
Cincinnati's largest thriving open air market
is a gem set in Over-the-Rhine, the city's historic district
neighborhood. In 1793, the market consisted of only a simple
log cabin store, owned and operated by General James Findlay,
a former Cincinnati mayor. Following the death of his wife in
1851, he donated the marketplace to the city, which built it
into an open air public market. Completed in 1855, the
structure was the first cast wrought iron market building in
the United States.
Over the years, the market has expanded and
modernized. In 1995, the city inaugurated a revitalization project
for the market and its neighborhood. Much of Findlay Market's
heritage is rooted in the traditions of the area's early German
immigrants. They settled in Cincinnati just north of the Miami and
Erie Canal, which was completed in 1845. The canal was called "the
Rhine," and the German settlement became "Over the Rhine." The
German influence at Findlay Market and the surrounding area is
still evident, with some original businesses in their fourth
generation of ownership. However, new merchants, whose ethnicities
are Irish, Italian, African-American, Latino, Lebanese, and
Vietnamese, have established small businesses in the area.
Located within several blocks of downtown, the market
has remained popular throughout the centuries. It offers fresh
foods year round, especially locally grown produce, exotic imported
herbs, fresh baked goods, and other homemade food products.
Documentation includes a 14-page report; photographs;
and the market's master business development plan.
Originally submitted by: Steve Chabot, Representative (1st District).
The Local Legacies project provides a "snapshot" of American Culture as it was expressed in spring of 2000. Consequently, it is not being updated with new or revised information with the exception of "Related Website" links.